Friday, 29 January 2016

THE SHRIEKS FROM BELOW - VOL 1 30/1/16






Playing on Grip of Delusion Radio this Saturday @ 3pm EST, 9pm CET and 8pm UK.

Nine diverse tracks this weekend opening with :

NONSUN
  A truly remarkable track off the Black Snow Desert album. This track reminds me of Hemispheres era Rush in parts.....their utterly malignant twin that is. Depressingly beautiful, but darkly despondent at the same time. Like viewing a resplendent floral display only to discover, close up, that it is shrouded in blight.
SPACESLUG
A collaboration between sludge band Legalize Crime, and Stoners Palm Desert. This track is a premiere of an upcoming album and promises cosmic riffs in the tradition of bands such as Yob.
SUN DAGGER
A complete change of direction here. Sun Dagger has just released an album of meandering psych jams reminiscent of David Gilmour and Lunar Dunes 
MONUMENTUM 
New band. 70's doom with a heavy stoner influence - see review
LIZARD THRONE
Sabbath worship - see review
WALLACK
French psych stoners frying brains.
DUCKHUNTERS
Another French band playing a more metallic style of stoner rock with copious amounts of fuzz.
SERPENT EATER
Definitely the black sheep of the family here. Mid ish paced death metal with an infection of blackness threatening to take hold.
MATAGUSANOS
Ending the show with desert punks Matagusanos.