Thursday, 29 December 2016

THE SHRIEKS FROM BELOW SHOW - Grip of Delusion Radio (New Year's Eve 2016)



The Shrieks From Below Playing on Grip of Delusion Radio each Saturday @ 3pm EST, 9pm CET, and 8pm UK.

Huge thanks to:

 Luca (Acid Cosmonaut Records) for DSW

Magic Chicken Fudgetoe for the tracks from their 'Bad Bondye' EP


So, this is the last show of 2016, and true to form, I'm all over the place with different styles and genre's. Even the opening track 'Volcanic Pigstars' from the Ukrainian band Mozergush, isn't your straightforward stoner doom, with its heavily psychedelic undercurrent. The 'left field' feeling of this weeks show continues with the off kilter sludge of Phantom Glue, and the late 60's/70's sounding hard rock of Meddlesome, Meddlesome, Meddlesome Bells. I have more of a stoner rock presence this week with Dead Rabbits, Demon Cleaner, and Fuzzcrafter. Internal Void provides the doom in its more traditional form.

New stuff is from the soon to be released 'Tales From The Cosmonaut' by Italians DSW, and a new EP from noise/sludgesters Magic Chicken Fudgetoe. Extremity ends the show with 'Superior' by Guilt. Sounds like someone being kneecapped while listening to Grief.

Band Order
Phlefonyaar - Usual creepy intro
Mozergush
Dead Rabbits
DSW
Magic Chicken Fudgetoe
DSW
Demon Cleaner
Phantom Glue
Magic Chicken Fudgetoe
Meddlesome, Meddlesome,Meddlesome, Bells
Fuzzcrafter
Internal Void
Guilt