Thursday, 8 December 2016

THE SHRIEKS FROM BELOW VOL 36 - Grip of Delusion Radio 10/12/2016



The Shrieks From Below, played on Grip of Delusion Radio each Saturday @3pm EST,9pm CET,8pm UK.

This weeks show (10/12/2016) is something of a slow burner compared to recent episodes. I'm starting with a meandering, trippy number from Heavy Temple, and following it with a really chilled jam from Druid, off their 'Odyssius' album. The inevitable heaviness isn't too far off though, and cranks up with the track 'Heretic's Fork' off this weekends featured band Buzzherd. In fact, I'm playing a couple of songs from their excellent new album 'Siege Machine.' From then on the heaviness never abates, particularly the following track from the extremely sluggish Churches Burn, preceding another slab of doom from La Cuenta. Doom death is never far away from this show and an early track by Blind Haven doesn't disappoint. The pace of the show momentarily picks up thanks to Raging Speedhorn, before settling into a stoner groove thanks to Neurosico. I do try and play something a little avant - garde, so I'm experimenting a little with something, still heavy mind, from Hexafiend. Doom though, inevitably wins the day, and Arson Under The Sea deliver the final coup de grace.

Running Order:

Phlefonyaar - Usual creepy intro
Heavy Temple
Druid
Buzzherd
Churches Burn
La Cuenta
Blind Haven
Raging Speedhorn
Buzzherd
Neurosico
Hexafiend
Arson Under The Sea